moretutors.ca - Canadian Free Tutor Listings

Tutors, tutoring services, reviews - 3199 tutor profiles

Tutor Search > Dr. Jay Herath
Dr. Jay Herath -- Reviews

Write your review
Answer to Jessy by Dr. Jay Herath
By: Jay Herath
Review Date: Aug 6, 2019
Tutor Rating:
Hi Jessy, my records shows no sign of you have taken any of my teaching or advising services. If you can prove that you have had a sessions with me. I will reimburse your payments fully. Also my staff is qualified, experienced and our services are guaranteed.

To ​begin with, could you confirm if you were a UBC student? And you had a session with Dr. Jay and it was unsatisfactory,​ would you be kind to get in touch with me so I can find out what went wrong? Please contact me call 604 564 8194 and ask for Dr. Jay Herath or email at examtarget1@gmail.com

Dr. Jay and his team is appreciative your critiques and will take action to improve our services.

Kind Regards
Dr. Jay Herath
Center Director
Poor tutoring experience.
By: Jessy
Review Date: Mar 10, 2019
Tutor Rating:
Please do not schedule tutoring with him. I was charged 120 dollars for a two hour session in first year chemistry and all he did was stare at a textbook and plug random numbers into a calculator. Didn’t learn anything from that session. Do not recommend.
Best ochem tutor
By: J.L
Review Date: Feb 21, 2018
Tutor Rating:
Dr. Jay is the best ochem professor I had and most qualified and experienced one too. He is also the most dedicated teacher out of all. I'm gearing up for taking mcat soon will surely come back to him.
Best tutor I've had in years
By: Jeff Sha
Review Date: Aug 18, 2017
Tutor Rating:
Dr. Jay is an amazing tutor that worked closely with me when I needed help in chemistry. He is very familiar with the course material at UBC and was able to help me regain confidence my ability to do chemistry after I had failed a few chemistry courses (prior to working with Dr. Jay). Dr. Jay is very patient and can clearly explain the concepts in different ways that may be easier to understand. If you are looking for a chemistry tutor whether it is to prepare for a upcoming course or for review sessions before midterms and exams, Dr. Jay is your guy!
Chem 233 UBC
By: Arya G
Review Date: Dec 24, 2016
Tutor Rating:
Dr.Herath is the excellent choice if you are looking for a chemistry tutor. His way of explaining hard concepts with all the the tricky details and also working with me through hard questions helped me recieve an A in chem 233. Perfect tutor for chemistry.
Great Mentor and Awesome, Relatable Teacher!
By: V
Review Date: Dec 20, 2016
Tutor Rating:
Dr. Jay assisted me with a tough course of Ochem in two months, and throughout the two months, he was both understanding and helpful in helping me understand all the concepts well. He always finds a way to accommodate with the schedules of all his students, and is willing to go beyond and stay overtime to help his students succeed and do well. If it weren't for him and his guidance, I would not have done as well as Ochem! Thank you Dr. Jay!!
both a great teacher and an excellent human being
By: Ces
Review Date: Aug 15, 2016
Tutor Rating:
Dr Jay took me all the way from Ochem, through two semesters of Biochem, the MCAT and more Ochem, and into medical school. Aside from being a dedicated and hard-working teacher, he is also extremely experienced and knowledgeable of the various academic systems (high school, various local universities, MCAT/medical school applications etc). At UBC he was familiar with the peculiarities of various courses and professors' individual teaching styles and exam habits. He was therefore able to teach both academic content and tailored success strategies. He is also extremely kind and has gone out of his way, through the years, to give me academic and life advice, referrals to other resources and the like. From knowing other students of his I know that he takes a personal interest in his students and can remain a key factor in their success even after he is no longer their tutor. I would definitely recommend Dr. Jay.
Simply the Best
By: Maina
Review Date: May 15, 2016
Tutor Rating:
Easily one of the most dedicated and reliable tutors out there. He'll meet you, where it's convenient for you. Extremely knowledgeable and kind :)

Excellent mentor
By: Mahendra Gampolage
Review Date: May 14, 2016
Tutor Rating:
Dr. Hearath is not only a great tutor but also a excellent mentor. He helped my son to get in to UBC with a major entrance scholarship. He also effectively guide my son to write his first letter to the editor on very important public health topic related to adolescents. I highly recommend Dr. Hearath not only as a excellent tutor but also as a great mentor.
Amazing,reliable and caring
By: AN
Review Date: May 14, 2016
Tutor Rating:
Dr.Herath's is very caring and reliable individual. He is able to simply the most complicated of concepts, into simple, understandable concepts. Dr.Herath's is easily one of the best tutors out there, and without him I know that I would not have been able to get a Major Entrance Scholarship to UBC and SFU.
Excellent Tutor!
By: Anonymous
Review Date: Aug 9, 2015
Tutor Rating:
Dr. Jay is without a doubt an excellent teacher. The best that I've ever had. I am an athlete and I have absent for many parts of the year so, catching up was always a task. With the easy techniques and way in which Jay taught me the materials in a few hours and guided me to achieve an "A" in all three terms of Chemistry 12. I know that with his help, skill and experience he will continue to assist me and help me succeed. He is also a very easy going, friendly fellow. Also, he will continue to be my tutor in my university endeavors. I highly recommend him for anyone to boost their mark and understand concepts with ease. Thank you very much Jay!
Solid instructor
By: J
Review Date: Jul 12, 2015
Tutor Rating:
Jay's teaching was solid, and he is excellent at not only helping you grasp the fundamentals of the course taken, but also applying these fundamentals and using them to solve more difficult questions. He also teaches great strategies and shortcuts to help solve difficult questions. I would highly recommend him. (UBC CHEM 233)
An Amazing Chemistry Tutor
By: Gina
Review Date: Jul 3, 2015
Tutor Rating:
Jay is by far one of the best tutors that I’ve ever had. He is knowledgeable and respectful to his students. He really knows how to teach organic chemistry. I finally understand how much effort and time it takes to learn the language of organic chemistry. It’s definitely not an easy course but with Jay’s help and strategies, I was able to learn the material quickly within a short period of time. It is true that he can explain difficult and confusing concepts using simple and understandable terms. He also answers all my questions and he makes sure that I fully understand it before exam time. Although he has a very tight schedule, he always manages to have time with me the day before exams. He even encourages me to do better by coming up with the best solution on how I can prepare for the next exam. With Jay’s encouragement and help, I was able to achieve a final grade in organic chemistry that was beyond my expectations. I’m so thankful to have Jay as my chemistry tutor.
Awesome Tutor
By: Ana
Review Date: Apr 7, 2015
Tutor Rating:
Jay is an amazing tutor! I often have issues with chem and bio, and even when I have lost all hope, he manages to explain it clearly and make me understand. He is very patient and knowledgeable and has many ways of explaining a concept often using simple examples from the real world. It makes science so much more interesting. Also, his schedule is flexible and he always finds time for me when I'm panicking before a big test. I will definitely recommend him to anyone who needs help in high school or higher level bio and/or chem! Thank you so much for all your help Jay!
The best chemistry, biology and science tutor
By: Jason Li
Review Date: Sep 9, 2014
Tutor Rating:
My parents hired Dr.Jay for my cousins grade 12 chemistry, when he got to Waterloo university. My father wanted him to teach me science, then following years chemistry and biology until my university entrance.
He is a great teacher, great councilor and a friend too. His review classes are unbeatable. They save me time, took our vacation still I got the best marks for every test.
Best tutor,
very reliable science, biology and chemistry tutor.
thanks doc.jay
The Smartest Science Teacher Ever
By: Thomas Yuan
Review Date: Aug 28, 2014
Tutor Rating:
Jay is the best science teacher ever,with him i experienced a new dimension of science.With him science became one of my favorite subjects.He is good at every part of science especially the physics part.Everytime he teaches me something ,if i don't under stand,he would try to use examples around us to explain how it works to me.In this way of teaching,Jay makes science very interestig.
best tutor
By: Jimmy K..
Review Date: Jul 28, 2014
Tutor Rating:
I had other tutors before, but Jay did best reviews for biology and chemistry. Now I'm camping and waiting to start my university in a month. I am getting a 20% higher mark now than I ever did before he trained me to learn the subject smarter and take tests with great results.
entered university
By: Jonathan L
Review Date: Jul 6, 2014
Tutor Rating:
Jay is a great teacher. I took him for my high school chemistry and biology. I've got early admission plus a scholarship.
He is a flexible and very reliable teacher.
Chemistry tutor
By: Daphnie
Review Date: Jun 22, 2014
Tutor Rating:
J is a great tutor. He can teach a new unit from scratch, clearly explain any problems you have, and give you the quickest ways to solve problems. The proof is in the improvement in grades; he helped me bring up my chemistry mark by over 10%. I stopped listening to my teacher in class yet was more caught up than most of my classmates. He saved my chemistry mark.
Excellent tutor
By: Anita
Review Date: Jun 22, 2014
Tutor Rating:
I was very fortunate to have Dr. Jay as my chemistry & biology tutor for 2 years. His schedule is very flexible in a sense that I didn't have to have classes every week, unlike other tutors. He is also able to squeeze in a lesson or two before a big exam if I still need any extra help. Also, Jay can explain difficult concepts very well and it is very easy to understand the material after his lessons. I highly recommend Jay for those of you that are struggling in chemistry or biology in school.
10/10 for tutoring
By: Eric
Review Date: Jun 13, 2014
Tutor Rating:
J is an excellent tutor I have been working with him for almost two years now. Everytime befor a big test I will just call him and he will always come no matter how tight his schedule is. He can explains the complicated stuff in a very simple way, and make sure I understand them. He is just an great great tour to have.
Great tutor
By: Sean M. Phillips
Review Date: Feb 26, 2014
Tutor Rating:
I had other tutors, but no one can be near Dr.Jay's method of teaching, qualifications and his experience. I was fortunate to have him as my tutor and great councilor too. Made my way to ivy league.
I still get his help time to time.
sent me to UT
By: Eric Wong
Review Date: Sep 14, 2012
Tutor Rating:
great teacher





© 2022 moretutors.ca - Tutor listings, Canada