moretutors.ca - Canadian Free Tutor Listings

Tutors, tutoring services, reviews - 3199 tutor profiles

Tutor Search > Katie Chan
Katie Chan -- Reviews

Write your review
Amazing and patient tutor
By: Jake M
Review Date: Aug 18, 2019
Tutor Rating:
I was taking two math and one science course this past year (advance functions, calculus and vectors, and chemistry). I felt like I was struggling to keep up with the homework and the topics in class. My mum found Katie on this site and we decided to try tutoring. I've never needed help before this year, but Katie really has a way of describing concepts that make it easy to remember. I'm involved with hockey outside of school, so my schedule can change from week to week but Katie is so flexible with tutoring dates. I also do online tutoring instead of having her come to my house due to my busy schedule. She sets up a whiteboard and its pretty much the same as if she's sitting next to me. 10/10 would recommend her. Trust me you won't be disappointed.
Wonderful tutoring in terms of both content and delivery
By: Janet Fryer
Review Date: Jul 13, 2015
Tutor Rating:
Katie tutored 2 of my kids in math. Her knowledge of both the topic and what teachers are looking for is extensive. She was sensitive to my kids strengths and learning disabilities and helped them to get the most out of each course she helped them with. My background is teaching high school with experience in special ed and giftedness. I would highly recommend Katie to tutor any child.
A Great Teacher
By: Taylor
Review Date: Jul 5, 2015
Tutor Rating:
Katie gave me the help I needed, taught me great techniques and was always kind. I felt that I improved this year in math with her assistance, and I would strongly recommend her to students looking for a math or science tutor.
Excellent Tutor
By: Colleen
Review Date: Jun 30, 2015
Tutor Rating:
Katie was patient and understanding when tutoring my son. She was professional and always on time. I appreciated Katie's flexibility with additional tutoring sessions when needed. My son's math grade increased significantly because of Katie's teaching. I highly recommend Katie for your tutoring needs.
Professional, Thorough and Intelligent Tutoring
By: S Archer
Review Date: Jun 30, 2015
Tutor Rating:
Our daughter has been tutored by Katie for the past two years and we have seen her confidence and abilities in math and science rise significantly because of Katie's help. Katie has been able to teach with patience, knowledge and kindness and math and science have gone from being dreaded subjects to those that our daughter looks forward to working on. I highly recommend Katie. She has played a very important role in our lives.
Best tutor I have had
By: Becca M
Review Date: May 6, 2015
Tutor Rating:
I have had many other tutors previously with no luck - my marks didn't seem to be improving enough. I only wish I had known about Katie earlier! She was recommended to me through a family friend. Katie was my tutor when I was taking grade 12 advanced functions. She is able to explain concepts to me that my teacher wasn't able to, and she provides examples along the way so that everything is easier to understand. Her notes are organized and neat, and I used them a lot to study for my tests. With her help, I was able to finally get my math mark up above 80, which has never happened before! If I could, I would recommend her to more people!
Math, Chemistry, and Biology Review
By: Megan Kingvisser
Review Date: Jun 23, 2014
Tutor Rating:
Katie has been my tutor for the past 2 years after I had struggled with math (mainly) in grades 9 and 10. I was not sure why I was finding math so difficult and what I was doing wrong, which was extremely frustrating, but Katie helped me realize that the way the teacher was explaining these concepts did not suit my learning style. Over the two years she not only helped bring my math mark (as well as biology and chemistry) up a huge amount, but got me to properly understand the material I was applying. Katie was honestly my saving grace since grade 11, she was always dedicated, kind, sweet, funny, generous, caring and every time she left all my confusion was gone. She gave me the tool I needed to succeed and I was so lucky to have her as my tutor.
Math & Science Tutoring
By: Elizabeth
Review Date: Jun 18, 2014
Tutor Rating:
Katie has helped me through this past year a lot, she has brought up my math and science mark for my final report card with her effective help in our sessions. Katie had very clear and neat notes, she gave clear explanations and always prepared neat notes that would help me understand a unit better. She was always patient in listening to my questions and always found the best ways to help me better understand a unit or topic. I really enjoyed having Katie as my tutor and recommend her to anyone who is in need of a tutor.
Math Tutoring
By: Marley
Review Date: Jun 18, 2014
Tutor Rating:
Katie has been tutoring me for the last two years. I found my homework very difficult to do and did not understand the lessons that my teachers tought me. However, with Katie I could ask her any question from my math homework and she would always know how to answer it and explain it in an effective way. She is very kind and even if it took me a while to understand a concept would continue to explain it until I did. Would definitely recommend!!
Math tutoring
By: Leah
Review Date: Nov 24, 2013
Tutor Rating:
I have had Katie as my tutor for the last 3 years, and I have to say I can't live without her! She is able to explain things to me that my teachers can't. Her notes are neat and organized, and she is very friendly and easy to talk to. Sometimes I feel like I keep asking her the same things over and over, but she takes the time to listen to me and doesn't get upset.
Biology, chemistry and maths tutoring
By: Joe
Review Date: Oct 16, 2013
Tutor Rating:
My son Andy was very weak in grade 12 Biology, chemistry and maths, Andy had tried several tutors, but the results were the same, I thought there was something wrong to my son's brain, why his is not the same as mine. Fortunately, I found Katie Chan via her web-site. After only few months tutoring, Andy was accpeted by Carleton University.
I would like to say thanks to Katie, you are the one able to change Andy's life. Andy was so sad, so lonely...before he received the acceptance from Carleton University. Now he is a happy boy able to follow the successful group of students.

Katie,
Thank you so much again! I hope you can help more students like Andy.
p/s: We met Andy last weekend, all subjets are doing okay, exept physics is a bit weak, because he didn't grade 12 physics. I hope he able to pass physics.
Great Math Tutor
By: Claire
Review Date: May 10, 2013
Tutor Rating:
Katie was a great math tutor. I was have trouble at the start of term in math, but with her help I ended up with a 90 on the exam. She helped me understand the basics of the problems, and how to work out things that i couldn't before.
Very knowledgeable
By: Jason
Review Date: Aug 28, 2012
Tutor Rating:
Katie has tutored me for 4 years now, and she is an excellent tutor. When we started tutoring, I had no interest in math, but now I enjoy it much more than before. She reviewed concepts that were taught in class in a clear, concise manner that is easy for me to understand. Most of my teachers won't take the time to listen, but I feel I can ask Katie during tutoring. My marks in math have gone up from 66% to 80%.
Exceptionally Good Teacher
By: A mother who is also a teacher(but not math & sci)
Review Date: Jun 16, 2012
Tutor Rating:
Katie tutors my daughters in Math & Science. Although they were both struggling particularly with math, they were very reluctant to have a tutor. After the first session with Katie, they were effusive and asking when they could go again. Their marks in both subjects have gone up; math substantially.
Fantastic!
By: Sarah
Review Date: Jun 15, 2012
Tutor Rating:
Katie is an amazing tutor with excellent teaching skills. She is very patient, kind and funny! She answers every question and puts your mind at ease. She is very punctual and flexible.

Her real-life comparisons make understanding difficult concepts easy.

Another plus is her nice/clear writing, making notes very readable.

With Katie as a tutor, my mark has dramatically improved and I feel more confident in my classwork.
Excellent Math Tutor!
By: Samantha
Review Date: May 29, 2012
Tutor Rating:
Katie is down-to-earth, friendly, encouraging, and kind. I started going to her when my math marks dropped to the 50's and 60's. After just a few sessions with her, that changed to 80's (and eventually a 95% on a test!). The way my teacher would describe the lessons made no sense to me. Yet, as soon as Katie went through the lessons her own way, I understood and grasped everything. My attitude towards going to school changed from completely discouraged, to excited. All because I knew that when I walked into Math, I'd finally be able to follow along. My sister is also tutored by her. We highly recommend her!





© 2022 moretutors.ca - Tutor listings, Canada