moretutors.ca - Canadian Free Tutor Listings

Tutors, tutoring services, reviews - 3186 tutor profiles

Tutor Search

Katie Chan

Hon. B.Sc. at UofT for Human Biology with a focus on genetics. TEFL/TESL certified. 12 years tutoring and 4 years teaching experience (mainly math/science) at all grade levels. Can provide organizational assistance and test/exam preparation.



Tutor Rating:
Tutor reviews    Write a review


Tutoring Locations
Servicing the following cities: Toronto, North York, Markham, Richmond Hill, Woodbridge, Etobicoke, Mississauga, Brampton, Milton, Oakville, Burlington.

Ontario: Toronto

Contact Information
Send email to the tutor
Web site: www.affinitytutoring.com

Lesson Types and Tutoring Fees
Tutoring prices vary depending on grade, number of hours booked, location, etc.

Type Fee
Individual  $40 - $60
Group  $20 - $40
Online  $5 - $60
E-mail  $5 - $30

Lesson Languages
English, Mandarin / Cantonese

Tutoring Services and Experience
Hello all!

It's always a 'right' time to start tutoring. After all, being ahead of the game is much better than playing catch up. But, even if you are falling behind in class, have no fear! I can give you the attention that you won't get from your teachers at school.

A LITTLE BIT ABOUT ME…
I worked towards my undergraduate degree at UofT, for an Hon. B.Sc. double major in Human Biology (Genetics) and East Asian Studies. I recently completed my TEFL and TESL certifications. Since 2006, I have tutored and taught people of all ages, from grade 1 all the way up to university level students, as well as adults who are mature students, or students studying for standardized tests (TOEFL, SAT, nursing/police/firefighter's entrance exams, etc.). During this time, I also taught math and science courses for a private school for 4 years. I have extensive knowledge of the current Ontario curriculum, and able to provide guidance through the university and/or college application process. In my spare time, I enjoy singing, snowboarding, badminton, volleyball, cooking and finding new and exciting activities/events in Toronto.

EXTRA TUTORING INFO…
I am available to tutor either in the privacy and convenience of your home (in-person or online), or at a quiet, public location such as a library or community centre. I have access to most high school math and science textbooks that are currently used in schools, however, I would request that the student bring it along with them to the session. Online tutoring is completed through a private online whiteboard, where the student can see what I am writing in real time; voice and video conferencing is done at the same time through telephone or Skype.

CONTACT ME...
I can be reached using through this website (see above heading "Contact Information"). Alternatively, you may contact me through my website. My contact number can be provided privately through email. Please ensure that you include the following information in your email:
1. Your full name (first and last)
2. Contact number
3. Best time to contact you?
4. Subject(s) of interest
5. Preferred tutoring day/time (ex. Fridays at 1pm) and method (in-person or online)

I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Subjects
Elementary school: Communication Skills, English, ESL, Math, Reading, Science, Writing
Middle school: Biology, Chemistry, English, ESL, Literacy / Essay, Math
High school: Biology, Chemistry, English, ESL, Literacy / Essay, Math
College and University: Biology, Botany, Genetics, Psychology, Zoology
Test Preparation: GED, SAT, SSAT, TOEFL, TOESL
Foreign Languages: Mandarin / Cantonese

Tags
High school, Biology, Chemistry, Science, Genetics, Math, Algebra, Trigonometry, Trig, Calculus, Functions, Essay, Test, Prep, Mature, Experienced, ESL, English, Cantonese, Female, Online tutoring





© 2019 moretutors.ca - Tutor listings, Canada